## **AGENDA**

CONSTITUTION COMMITTEE

Date and Time of Meeting

FRIDAY 8 JUNE 2007 at 4.00PM

Venue COMMITTEE ROOM 4, COUNTY HALL, ATLANTIC

WHARF, CARDIFF

Membership Councillors Austin, Berman, Cox, Davies, Gasson,

Goodway, Howells, Lansdown, Montemaggi, Owens,

Sheppard, and Walker.

1. Chair 2007/2008

To note that Council at its Annual Meeting on 17 May 2007 elected Councillor Berman as Chair of this Committee for the Municipal Year 2007/2008.

- 2. Membership and Terms of Reference
  - (i) Membership

County Councillors Austin, Berman, Cox, Davies, Gasson, Goodway, Howells, Lansdown, Montemaggi, Owens, Sheppard and Walker.

(ii) Terms of Reference

To review the Council's Constitution, and to recommend to Council and/or the Executive any changes, except that the Committee will have authority (subject to the Monitoring Officer's advice) to make the following changes on behalf of the Council:-

(a) Drafting improvements to enhance clarity and remove minor anomalies.

- (b) Updating to reflect legislative changes and matters of record.
- (c) Amendments to the Financial, Contracts and Land Procedure Rules (subject to the advice of the Section 151 Officer being sought).

## 3. Minutes

To approve as a correct record the minutes of the meeting held on 1 December 2006 – copy attached

- 4. Access to Information Procedure Rules report of the Monitoring Officer attached
- The Local Authorities Executive Arrangements (Functions and Responsibilities) (Wales) Regulations 2007 - Amendments to the Constitution - report of the Monitoring Officer attached
- 6. Planning Code of Good Practice report of the Monitoring Officer attached
- 7. Governance Programme report of the Monitoring Officer attached
- 8. Review of Constitutional Changes to Council Procedure Rules report of the Monitoring Officer attached

BYRON DAVIES Chief Executive CttC/CS/JP 4 June 2007

Tel. no. 20872423 Fax no. 20872431

email: j.parry@cardiff.gov.uk